The Misconceptions in Keeping Lent

Every year, from Ash Wednesday through to Easter Sunday, I am faced with the issue of keeping Lent. The stresses of wondering what to give up for 40 days and abstaining from eating meat on each Friday in between is a difficult task. But, I never really realized why my faith puts this on its people. I decided to do some quick internet research and I gathered some interesting information. All of this is according to the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. I’m not making it up!

You Don’t Have to Give Up Anything for Lent

Just so long as you work towards improving yourself. What does this all encompass? Examples of improving oneself is living a healthier lifestyle (exercising, eating healthy, etc.), praying more, or even just treating others better than you usually do. So long as you are working to improve yourself, there is no need to give anything up.

You Have to Fast on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday

According to the source, fasting is having either one large meal for the day or having two smaller meals that do not equal the amount of the larger meal. This was news to me! Fasting is supposed to allow Christians to feel the struggle that Jesus went through for 40 days. I guess a couple of days isn’t so bad in comparison.

Lent Participation Begins at Age 14; Fasting Participation Begins at 18

And the range of ages stops at age 60. Who knew there were restrictions to keeping Lent? There are other exceptions as well. The sick or ill cannot participate. Neither can pregnant women. These are both pretty obvious, but it’s good to have it in writing.

A Good Christian will Abstain from Eating Meat EVERY Friday

Again, jaw dropped to the floor. Every Friday throughout the calendar year is no meat Friday. That’s quite the struggle. It is suggested, but it’s not something that everyone must do.

Eat Menial Meals on Fridays

While fish is not considered a meat (the reason why, I have yet to see as of yet, I need to find it!), it is not accepted to have a lavish seafood dinner of lobster, crab, crab cakes and all the fixins. Fridays are to observe the struggle that Jesus went through. Same goes for going out to a fancy dinner, it does not fall in line with what the source says. And while on this subject, if a person does happen to eat meat on Friday, but without intent and instead did so without realizing the day, it is not considered a sin. We are human after all!

I don’t like doing stuff just to do it, so when I stumbled upon the USCCB site it gave me a better understanding about why Christians do these things. While I am not overly religious, this is a time that I try to keep to the rules, and having an understanding, at least for me, is integral. A reason and an understanding is all I need. I’ll incorporate these newfound restrictions to the best of my ability. Wish me luck!

Currently Listening To:

Incubus – Black Heart Inertia

Leave a comment