Testing the Approach or the Result

As I type this, Duke University is losing to Mercer University in a potential upset game in the NCAA Tournament. It was a test for Mercer, a huge underdog in this match, but they came away victorious.

I am also about to be tested. My second test of the semester to be precise. I forget how much of a panic sets in when I don’t know the precise material that is needed for the exam. But, this also got me to thinking, why is the examination more important than actually knowing the material?

I like to take the approach of knowing the material. The results will follow. The same goes with getting down the intricacies of a golf swing with precision. As long as the process is progressing , the results will be just as good.

With this approach, there also requires sufficient effort on the part of the person doing the action. You only get out of it what you put into it. That’s the old adage right? The results will show exactly how much effort you’ve put into the approach of learning the material, no matter what it is. Mercer must’ve put in the work to defeat Duke, and obviously it shows.

I understand I’m all over the place. But I had a slight epiphany about this and just had to get it out. The real question is, do you agree?

Currently Listening To:

Head Automatica – Brooklyn is Burning

Leave a comment